• 01. Sweet Dreams My L.A. Ex
  • 02. Funkydory
  • 03. Fools
  • 04. Breathe In, Breathe Out
  • 05. Glide
  • 06. Heaven Has To Wait
  • 07. Blue Afternoon
  • 08. I Got The Money
  • 09. Little Secret
  • 10. Solid
  • 11. Silk
  • 12. Sweet Dreams My L.A. Ex (Bimbo Jones Club Mix)

‘Funkydory’ is the debut album from Rachel Stevens. Fresh off the break-up from S Club, Rachel signed a record deal with Polydor records. The album was primarily recorded between London, England and Stockholm, Sweden between June and August of 2003. The album features the singles ‘Sweet Dreams My LA Ex’ and ‘Funkydory’. A rereleased album was released in July of 2004 to include ‘Some Girls’ and ‘More More More’.

Album Stats

Released: September 29, 2003
Recorded: June – August 2003
Total Sales: In Excess of 310,000
Label: Polydor
Genre: Pop

Facts & Trivia

  • ‘Sweet Dreams My LA Ex’ was intended for inclusion on the Britney Spears album “In The Zone” but was declined due to the subject matter
  • ‘Breathe In, Breathe Out’ was intended to be the third single from this album, however, was scrapped in favor for ‘Some Girls’ and a rerelease, the single version was included as a remixed version on the rereleased album.
  • There are several unreleased songs from these album sessions most notably Requiem of Tears and High on Love.
  • The album inserts and cover were originally featured in ‘Arena’ Magazine and reused for the album
  • ‘Funky Dory’ holds a Platinum certification in the UK and charted #9 in the UK charts upon it’s release.


Sweet Dreams My LA Ex


Production Credits

Sweet Dreams My L.A. Ex

Written By: Cathy Dennis, C. Karlsson, P. Winnberg, H. Jonback
Produced By: Bloodshy & Avant

Funky Dory

Written By: M. Brammer, Guy Clark
Produced By: David Eriksen


Written By: A. Bagge, K. Poole, A. Brigisson
Produced By: Arnthor & Bag

Breathe In, Breathe Out

Written By: D. Thornqvist, R. Lofgren
Produced By: Stephen Lipson


Written By: Cathy Dennis, C. Karlsson, P. Winnberg, H. Jonback
Produced By: Bloodshy & Avant

Heaven Has To Wait

Written By: Cathy Dennis, A. Bagge, A. Briggson
Produced By: Arnthor & Bag

Blue Afternoon

Written By: Yak Bondy, H. Korpi, M. Johansson
Produced By: Yak Bondy

I Got The Money

Written By: Ben Chapman, Martin Harrington, Lucie Silvas
Produced By: Ben Chapman, Martin Harrington

Little Secret

Written By:Cathy Dennis, Guy Chambers
Produced By: David Eriksen


Written By: David Eriksen, Lisa Greene, B. Pertersen-Overlier
Produced By: David Eriksen


Written By: Mike Penden, Lucie Silvas, T. Nicholls
Produced By: Mike Penden