Funkydory (2003)

  • 01. Sweet Dreams My L.A. Ex
  • 02. Funkydory
  • 03. Fools
  • 04. Breathe In, Breathe Out
  • 05. Glide
  • 06. Heaven Has To Wait
  • 07. Blue Afternoon
  • 08. I Got The Money
  • 09. Little Secret
  • 10. Solid
  • 11. Silk
  • 12. Sweet Dreams My L.A. Ex (Bimbo Jones Club Mix)

“Funkydory” is the 2003 debut album from British singer, Rachel Stevens. The album features the singles “Sweet Dreams My L.A. Ex” and “Funkydory”. The album hit #9 in the UK charts and was certified gold in the United Kingdom. It also went on to become the #165th best selling album of 2003 despite being released in the final quarter of the year!

Album Stats

Released: September 29, 2003
Recorded: June – August 2003
Label: Polydor
Genre: Pop

Facts & Trivia

  • ‘Sweet Dreams My LA Ex’ was intended for inclusion on the Britney Spears album “In The Zone” but was declined due to the subject matter
  • ‘Breathe In, Breathe Out’ was intended to be the third single from this album, however, was scrapped in favor for ‘Some Girls’ and a rerelease, the single version was included as a remixed version on the rereleased album.
  • There are several unreleased songs from these album sessions most notably Requiem of Tears and High on Love.
  • The album inserts and cover were originally featured in ‘Arena’ Magazine and reused for the album
  • ‘Funky Dory’ holds a Platinum certification in the UK and charted #9 in the UK charts upon it’s release.


Sweet Dreams My L.A. Ex

Funky Dory

Production Credits

Sweet Dreams My L.A. Ex

Written By: Cathy Dennis, C. Karlsson, P. Winnberg, H. Jonback
Produced By: Bloodshy & Avant

Funky Dory

Written By: M. Brammer, Guy Clark
Produced By: David Eriksen


Written By: A. Bagge, K. Poole, A. Brigisson
Produced By: Arnthor & Bag

Breathe In, Breathe Out

Written By: D. Thornqvist, R. Lofgren
Produced By: Stephen Lipson


Written By: Cathy Dennis, C. Karlsson, P. Winnberg, H. Jonback
Produced By: Bloodshy & Avant

Heaven Has To Wait

Written By: Cathy Dennis, A. Bagge, A. Briggson
Produced By: Arnthor & Bag

Blue Afternoon

Written By: Yak Bondy, H. Korpi, M. Johansson
Produced By: Yak Bondy

I Got The Money

Written By: Ben Chapman, Martin Harrington, Lucie Silvas
Produced By: Ben Chapman, Martin Harrington

Little Secret

Written By:Cathy Dennis, Guy Chambers
Produced By: David Eriksen


Written By: David Eriksen, Lisa Greene, B. Pertersen-Overlier
Produced By: David Eriksen


Written By: Mike Penden, Lucie Silvas, T. Nicholls
Produced By: Mike Penden